Is there chocolate after whole30? Duh.

Let’s talk about chocolate.

I think my feelings can best be expressed through this lovely quote found on Pinterest:


via

I was willing to give it up for Whole30.  I fought my sugar demons (and won).   But good chocolate?  Dark chocolate?  Smooth, creamy, delicious chocolate?  That’s not something I’m willing to give up forever.  Because life without chocolate is not life, my friends.  End of story.

That being said, I do have some thoughts about what qualifies as good chocolate now.   I could care less about a Hersey’s bar.  I wouldn’t give a Nestle’s chocolate chip a second glance.  Don’t even try to tempt me with a Hershey’s kiss.  I guess you could say I’m a chocolate snob.  And I’m ok with that.

Which is how I ended up in my kitchen making my own chocolate.

homemade_chocolate

Picking my own ingredients, tweaking the recipe until I got just the right consistency and just the right flavor.  (I know, who am I?)    I even did blind taste-tests with unsuspecting guests which served two purposes (1) validate my efforts to solidify the best recipe and (2) rid the house of the abundance of chocolate.  I may have fought my sugar demons and won…but they are still there just waiting to be awoken.

I know I have to be careful about how much to indulge.  I’ve made so much progress on Whole30 that the last thing I want to do is revert back to old habits because it’s a slippery slope.  The good news is that since making this I’ve been able to be quite reasonable about eating it.  I’m satisfied after a piece and don’t feel the need for “just one more bite.”   I don’t indulge everyday.   I feel all grown up and what not.

So let’s talk about this chocolate.  It’s full of good-for-you stuff.  Like raw honey, coconut oil and cocoa butter.  The combination of which give it a smooth, creamy almost chewy texture.    That’s actually what surprised me the most about this homemade version…there’s a noticeable difference in texture that’s literally a little softer and chewier than a store-bought bar.  And it’s divine.

homemade_chocolate2

The cocoa powder gives it that decadent chocolate flavor and a touch of vanilla balances out the flavors and sweetens it up just a titch.

You definitely don’t need any sort of fancy mold to make chocolate (just pour it out on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper), but I thought it would be fun to have bite-sized pieces that you could just grab.  Plus it might help me from over-indulging (who me?).

chocolate

I personally am a fan of salted chocolate, so I finished these with a sprinkle of sea salt.  If you don’t care for the salty/sweet combo just omit that.  The chocolate will still be delicious.  Promise.

homemade_chocolate5

 

 

Homemade Salted Chocolate

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

twsst.wordpress.com
Ingredientshomemade_chocolate6

Directions

  1. Melt cocoa butter, coconut oil and raw honey in a double boiler, stirring continuously (if you don’t have raw honey that needs to be melted, add it during step 2).
  2. Once all ingredients have melted, remove from heat and stir in cocoa powder and vanilla extract until well combined.
  3. Carefully pour chocolate into molds, or schmear across a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper
  4. While still hot, sprinkle the chocolate with sea salt (I like a lot, you may not)
  5. Put molds (or cookie sheet) in the refrigerator to set the chocolate (around 30 minutes)
  6. Enjoy!

Notes

  • Due to the coconut oil, it’s best to store the chocolate in the fridge.  It should last a bit longer in there too (because maybe you’ll forget that you have it???  Doubtful.)
  • I haven’t experimented with this much, but it would be fun to add different flavor extracts (almond, mint?) or toppings (roasted almonds, coconut, bacon.  Yes.  Bacon).

 

*recipe adapted from wellnessmama

 

Leave a Comment!

