fall wreath

I love fall.  It’s my favorite season for sure….cool enough to wear jeans, boots and sweaters, but still sunny and warm during the day.  Not to mention the beautiful colors that mark the changing of the seasons.

This year I was intent on making a fall wreath.  I pinned my little heart out on Pinterest….

9992430394374903_ksd0bbqH_c[1]

via

I actually gathered up pinecones during a hike one day to make this wreath.  It feels more “wintery” to me though, so I haven’t made it yet!

130182245448200544_gEGhD4Hs_c[1]

<no source listed>

103231016428159312_CP6dIsvM_c[1]

via

152348399865830973_fSqVYaUa_c[1]

via

This cornstalk-top wreath (above) was my absolute favorite!  I really really wanted to make it but couldn’t find enough corn stalks.  Sigh.  Maybe next year I’ll start rubbing elbows with some farmers to poach their stalks come fall because I seriously love everything about this wreath.

IMG_7368

via

In the end, I decided to make the Nonna Wreath – from Jones Design Company (anyone surprised?  I tend to always go to Emily’s site for inspiration and I’m never disappointed). 

I won’t do a full tutorial here because Emily’s is great.  Simply click on the “via” link above and you’ll be taken to her blog.   I know it must sound like I know Emily, but I actually don’t!  I stumbled upon her blog a few years ago and have been following her ever since.  I find that we have the same tastes in design and her projects are always simple and classic. 

Anyhoo…here’s how my Nonna Wreath turned out!

nonna1

nonna2

nonna3

I love that it’s a bit ruffley and feminine, but not overly-so.  And I do like the mustardy yellow color!  It’s oh-so-fallish.

Those of you with a keen eye will notice that I’ve done a wee bit ‘o rearranging in the living room.   Remember, the console table/entryway used to look like this? 

IMG_4064

(wow, and that was before my new camera, obviously!)

And now looks like this:

nonna4

I decided I didn’t like the wall gallery right there, so I moved it across the room above the couch.  The mirror is one I had lying around.   I want to add a frame to it out of reclaimed wood….you know, make it all rustic and textured?  It’s on the project list.  I think it will help define the space a little bit. 

And this is what it used to look like above the couch:

IMG_4076

I knew it would happen and it did.  I got sick of the fabric panels. 

Don’t get me wrong, I still like the idea.  But I’m giving them a rest for awhile.  So here’s what it looks like now:

IMG_4125

Let’s play “eye spy the nonna wreath…”

IMG_4124

I like to call this look “layered neutrals.”  hahaha.  I’m obviously still struggling with color, but I like to think I’m working on it.  For example, I have thought about adding some colored throw pillows to the couch.  Just not sure what color yet (although I’ve noticed Target has some nice mustard yellow/goldish ones that might work well). 

I also want to put a shelf along the length of the couch, kind of like a long skinny console table.  I found this idea on Pinterest (surprise) to just attach a long board behind the couch as a place to set drinks, etc.  I want to do the same rustic/weathered wood here and maybe put a lamp on each end.  Plus, then it gives me a place to set my beer water so I quit spilling it on the couch. 

So what about you?  Have any of you made a fall wreath this year?  Done any rearranging at your house?  And tell me your secrets for decorating with color…I must know!

5 comments

  1. I want one!!! Looks great. And I totally approve of the re-arrangement. You know I zoomed in to make sure there were ATang pics present. Want that critter to know her Auntie Meme!!

  2. I heart the Nonna wreath. My current fall wreath is about to ‘fall’ apart (ha ha, couldn’t help myself!) so I’m thinking this could be a lovely replacement (when I get to it!) Love the splash of color and the saffron is a beautiful addition!

Leave a Comment!

