fancy is as fancy does

Does eating something with a fancy name therefore make one fancy? 

I think so.

Enter:  Provençal vegetable tian

To be honest, I don’t even know how to say that.  But it sure does sound fancy pants, no?

I happened to catch Martha Stewart on the Today show last week and she was showing Savannah how to make this happy dish  (sidenote:  so sad about Ann Curry!  What a crock).   For once I felt like her recipe didn’t start with the phrase “go pick the Egyptian rutabaga you planted last year in preparation for this dish…”   It all seemed pretty simple – just layer a bunch of vegetables, sprinkle with EVOO, salt, pepper and thyme….and voila!  Fancy pants. 

I knew I’d be going to the farmers market over the weekend and could pick up what I needed…and so I did.   Just some eggplant, zucchini, potato, leeks and tomato (ok, so I needed to stop at the store for kalamata olives).

Here’s a link to the recipe.

Make sure it’s not a blazing hot day outside because you’ll need to heat your oven to 450 degrees and leave it there for over an hour. 

I also picked up some locally-made wine and cheese sausage at the market to serve with my Provençal vegetable tian. 

So yes.  Fancy is as fancy does.  No one needs to know that you’re eating it in front of the TV, with a shirt that recently got spit-up on it, and drinking wine out of mason jar.   Like that’s not fancy.

One comment

  1. Attractive element of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing for your augment or even I success you access persistently
    rapidly.

Leave a Comment!

