have I told you lately…

Five years ago this Saturday I married my best friend.  In some ways it’s flown by faster than I would like (i.e. holy cow, we have a kid?!?!), and let’s be honest, some days it feels like….”is that all?  We’ve surely been married at least a century.”   That’s a normal feeling, right?  haha.

I loved everything about our wedding….the planning, the details, the lunch-time runs to Michaels and JoAnns, the projects, the crafts…and even the chaos.  It was a day we will never forgot.

Two weeks prior to our wedding I ran my first (and only) marathon with one of my girlfriends…I guess I was a glutton for punishment.  So when I reminisce about my wedding I often find myself reminiscing about that too….from the early-morning looooooong runs and hill workouts to the laughter and tears we shed along the way.   Both the marathon and my wedding are oddly intertwined in my memory and my heart.

marathon14 

But today, in honor of our five years together, I want to share some of my wedding pictures with you.  I had so much fun going back through these….it was hard to pick just a few to share.  I (with the help of my amazing family, sisters and friends) DIY’ed a lot for the wedding.  I wasn’t blogging back then or you would have heard all about it.   

You know it’s true. 

I’m one of those people that would totally have a wedding once a year if it were (1) free and (2) socially acceptable.  Since it’s neither, I must relive the one I had…which was pretty freakin’ fantastic in my opinion.   

Anyhoo, enough from me.  Here are some pictures of our very special day.

295j&e_ceremony

125j&e_portraits

I absolutely adore this picture of me and my dad.

226j&e_ceremony

Duuuuude.  This was a big deal….I somehow got the lead singer of my favorite band (The Clintons Band) to play acoustic during the ceremony and MC our reception.  He did an amazing job. 

188j&e_ceremony

089j&e_couple

Now that’s a big dress….

045j&e_gr

308j&e_reception

171j&e_portraits

We got married in Missoula at a golf course/restaurant called Shadow’s Keep.  We literally got married on the ninth green, which is just off of the back patio.  The general manager just drove a golf cart over (stocked with beer) to the tee box and asked the golfers to relax with a cold one while the wedding took place.  How cool is that?  So there were no stray golf balls flying at us or an unsuspecting guest. 

I may have been enamored with the fact that it looks like a castle.  What girl doesn’t want to get married in a castle?

shadows3

Here’s the back patio of the restaurant….I love the draped linen and pink pom poms!  I distinctly remember walking in and tearing up as I saw how beautiful it looked. 

183j&e_ceremony

janna's wedding 06

Our cake was am.az.ing.   Enough said.

172j&e_portraits

Our favors…hubby’s favorite candy:  M&Ms….and mine:  circus animals.   I can’t wait until Abby is old enough to start buying them for her.  Ok, for me.  Whatever.

And how about a big shout-out to my sister Amy for picking out all of the RED M&Ms for these favors?  Ha Ha Ha.  Yeah, I may have been a bit bridezilla at times.  But red SO doesn’t go with pink.   And it was only like 10 giant bags that she had to do.

010j&e_gr

Now, if there was one itsy-bitsy-teenie-weenie thing I would change about our wedding, it would be our flowers.  While they are certainly pretty…they are not what I asked for or envisioned. 

035j&e_gr

Yes, I rented a cotton candy machine.  And yes I made the cook in the kitchen make it.  And yes, this guy probably feels like a tool handing it out. 

But how cute does he look?

And how awesome is cotton candy!?  Hello.

448j&e_reception

You know you are loved when your brothers and brothers-in-law spend all morning making pink pom-pom poofs for you. 

Well, either that or I owe them big time. 

janna's wedding 03

And he doesn’t even like cotton candy.  What a sweetie.

janna's wedding 038

412j&e_reception

What a wonderful day.  I am so lucky to have such amazing friends and family.  And I am so thankful that I have a loving, caring and adventurous husband.   Someone who will go along with my cotton candy schemes and daydreams, but also someone who pushes me to be a more outgoing/adventurous person and soak up my beautiful Montana surroundings.   We may not have the perfect relationship or marriage; it’s hard at times.   But I suppose that just makes you appreciate the happy, carefree times that much more.  So, in case I haven’t told you lately, Hubs….I love you!  And happy anniversary!    And in case you don’t remember (it’s ok, I know you don’t have an eye for details), this was the song John sang during our ceremony.  :)

Have I told you lately that I love you
Have I told you there’s no one above you
Fill my heart with gladness
Take away my sadness
Ease my troubles, that’s what you do

Oh the morning sun in all it’s glory
Greets the day with hope and comfort too
And you fill my life with laughter
You can make it better
Ease my troubles that’s what you do

There’s a love that’s divine
And it’s yours and it’s mine
Like the sun at the end of the day
We should give thanks and pray to the one

Have I told you lately that I love you
Have I told you there’s no one above you
Fill my heart with gladness
Take away my sadness
Ease my troubles, that’s what you do

14 comments

  1. Janna – From guest/friend standpoint (and the first wedding I attended in MT), your wedding was a blast! It was so neat to see all your visions come together and encompass who you are. Well, and to see that you don’t joke around when you say you like pink. It’s such a blessing to see you and Eric so happy together and willing to push each other into unknown territories. You both, very much so, compliment one another in a way that no one else can. May God shine favor upon you and the family you continue to create.

  2. Great post! You and Eric are outstanding people and I am thrilled you found each other. Congratulations and please don’t tell Eric I said anything nice about him.
    Best,
    Cameron

  3. we are totally sisters from another mister – I would also have a wedding every year if free and socially acceptable, our groomsmen wore brown vests, etc., I would change the flowers from my wedding if I could and that’d be it AAAAAND I sing that song to my hubs on the reg. I loooove love love all of your pictures! Happy Anniversary!

  4. There are happy tears in my eyes thinking about your wedding day; looking at these photos and hearing that sweet serenade to your hubby. It was a day to remember…laughter and good times for all, love in the air, pink everywhere, and so many special touches that were soooo you! I would help you do it all again! xoxo Happy Anniversary!

  5. So beautiful! Who doesn’t like cotton candy and pink? You’re making me miss MT a bit, but that just means it’s still in my heart. Happy Anniversary Janna, may you two discover all the happy moments possible with your little baby girl, Abby. Be well!

  6. I feel like I remember your wedding as much as I do my own. Maybe it was because they were so close together? Regardless, it was such a beautiful wedding with personal touches to make it your own. I will always remember how beautiful you looked. Like Erin said, I would help youdo it all over again. :) green pigs!

    1. Maybe someday we can have our wedding dress party. I wonder if mine still fits, or if it’s worth taking it out of the “preservation” box to even try! hahahaha. Green pigs to you too!

  7. Awwe. Very nice! I’m sad we missed it! It looked beautiful. Glad to get another entertaining Janna blog post.

Leave a Comment!

