the opposite of progress

Since about two months, Abby has been (what I consider) sleeping through the night.   We start the process of putting her to bed around 8:00 depending on when she’s showing signs of being hungry.   At which point, mom or dad give her a bottle.  I’m nursing her full-time, but we introduced a bottle around 2-weeks so she would (hopefully) be comfortable with either.  And at the time, we were planning on putting her in daycare, so it was essential that she take a bottle.   Bottles also spell f-r-e-e-d-o-m for mom (it’s best if you say the word ‘freedom’ like Mel Gibson in Braveheart). 

Anyhoo, so we do a bottle and then get her all swaddled-up (she is still digging the swaddle at 3.5 months) and rock/walk/bounce/sing her to sleep (we’ve tried letting her put herself to sleep.  That doesn’t work yet!)  On a good night, she’s asleep and in bed by 9:00.   Other nights, it’s closer to 10:00, and worse case scenario even later. 

She’s still in a bassinet by our bed and will sleep until 4:00 or 5:00 a.m. at which point I feed her and she goes back to sleep until 8:00 or 9:00. 

It’s been great because I can have some one-on-one time with The Hubs in the evenings (well, at least an hour) before I head to bed.  Or sometimes I spend it trying to clean up and get ready for the next day of chaos.  I would love to spend this time blogging…but I’m not quite there yet.  

But back to the reason for this post. 

A girl can get used to sleeping 6-7 hours at night  (a girl being ME).    So when the baby decides to start waking up one or even two times a night…a girl can get kinda cranky.  Again, a girl being me. 

For the past two nights we’ve done our same routine…bottle, swaddle, bed…but Abby has woken up at 1:00 and 3:00 wanting to eat.  Then she’s only sleeping until around 7:00 a.m.   It’s kind of killing me. 

The Hubs said he read somewhere that women produce some magical hormones that help them cope with the sleepless nights after their babies are born.  And I totally believe it because I was getting basically 4 hours of sleep each night for several weeks and never felt “rundown.”  But now?   Now I’m exhausted after getting up only twice during the night!   Where the hell is that hormone now?!  And can I get some more please? 

Maybe it’s just a growth spurt. 

Perhaps she is sick of sleeping next to mom.   

Maybe she just doesn’t want her arms strapped down anymore.

Who the heck knows!?

That’s the completely aggravating part.  I have no idea what’s going on in that little brain of hers and probably never will.    But I need a game plan.

As sad as it makes me, I think it’s time to move her up to her crib. 

Honestly, I never thought she’d stay in her bassinet for more than about a month.  But somehow that turned into 3.5 months.  Whoops.  It’s just so easy having her right there.  Plus, I kinda love having her next to me so I can just peek over and see my little burrito sleeping soundly.   When I move her up to the nursery I’ll need to start using a baby monitor and making the trek all the way upstairs when she needs me. 

Ok, so maybe I’m just being lazy.  

So that’s the first thing I’ll try. 

Next, I’m thinking maybe I’ll start swaddling her with her arms out.  She’s recently discovered her hands and loves to stare at them and suck on her fists.  So maybe having them accessible will help, without having to give up the snuggly fit of the swaddle cold turkey. 

And that’s my plan.   It ain’t much, but I’ve got to start somewhere.  Momma needs some zzzzzz’s, or a whole lotta coffee.  Stat. 

Anyone else out there experience something similar?   People keep telling me that “oh, well if she’s already sleeping through the night it will just get better.”   Well, it’s not getting better.  Like I said, this is the opposite of progress. 

Welcoming suggestions and caffeine. 

IMG_1782

17 comments

  1. Who are these people that tell you once they start sleeping through the night you are set? Kids go through phases and once you figure out their routine, they are on to the next routine. Finn, at 7 months, is again waking 2 times a night. He slept through the night for months so who knows what is up. Rest assured that they eventually figure it out (or maybe we figure it out.)

    1. lol…maybe I’m hanging out with the wrong crowd, eh? I guess I need to remind myself that the only constant (as with all things in life) is change!

  2. She quite possibly is going through a growth spurt. However, if she’s waking up for the day at around 7:00, this may be a good time to see how she handles moving her bedtime up a bit – maybe 7:30 to start with. Sofia kind of went through that, and still has her moments depending on what her little body is going through. One of our friends told us that just when you think you’re in an awesome routine they (“they” being your child) throw you a curve ball and you are working on setting up a whole new routine. So true! Good luck, friend. :-)

    1. I think you’re right about trying an earlier bedtime…I guess I’ll just have to play each day by ear. Ugh. Not cool for a Type A-er like me. What I want to know is….how do people do this and go to work in the morning?!

  3. Try swaddling her body but not her arms (or just one arm) as a transition. Also, we could not, for the life of us, get Maysa to bed early. She now goes to be at 830 on a good night. Don’t stress about bedtime, they make it up during naptime. We put Maysa in her crib at 2.5 months to get ready for me to return to work, and there were a few times she (and I) cried it out. She won’t hate you for it. She won’t even remember. I also made sure to STUFF Maysa before bed. As much as she would eat! She seemed to sleep longest on a full belly, even if it meant I had to add formula to my unfortunate pathetic supply. Love hearing your story, thank you!

    1. I think I’ll definitely do the swaddling transition…she seems to like it so much that I hate to stop, but my sister found her little one rolled over on her belly in a full swaddle and it scared the heck out of her. I’m kind of terrified of that as well! So Abby may get lose it sooner than she wants!

  4. So glad we’re not the only ones experiencing this. I thought I jinxed myself by posting on Facebook that they’re sleeping through the night. We’ve had a few nights of the 3 am wake-up….and it’s brutal. We’re also trying to stuff them at night, and sticking to our routine in hopes they’ll be reminded of how great it was!
    Maybe check out Chronicles of a Babywise Mom. It was passed to me by another friend for sleep help. Google it.

    1. Thanks for the recommendation Erin! I’ll check it out. I’ll be looking forward to an update from you on how the nap-establishment is going! Abby’s still doing several 30 minute catnaps through the day so I’m curious to see how it goes for you!

  5. I’m an OB/Ped nurse and mother of two. I was a single mother for many years and had to juggle newborns, older children, work and sanity by myself. What worked for me was cosleeping. My infants slept in my bed and breasted until they were eighteen months each. They did not sleep through the night until I quit breast feeding, but usually only woke once and we would just roll on our sides, nurse, then roll back over and fall asleep. Much less disturbing than getting up. I’d keep diapers right at the bedside too if that was an issue. I also learned to nap when the baby napped. Try to think ahead and be proactive with your sleep because catch up is hard. Parenting is the hardest thing you’ll ever do, but it’s rewarding. Hang in there.

    1. Thanks Jenn! It always helps to hear other people’s stories! When Abby wakes up at 4 (or 5) I usually pull her into bed with me and nurse her. It’s actually one of my favorite times of the day, just cuddling early morning together. I worry about co-sleeping all night with the husband in there too. It’s a lot of people in a queen-sized bed! ha! But I do like the idea. Thanks for your comment and advice!

  6. I kept swaddling my little man and he would wake up once or twice a night too with the swaddle all messed up and his legs sticking out! Kinda funny! But then I switched him to footed sleepers and tada…..sleeping through the night. Maybe he was waking up cause he was cold, who knows, but whatever works! Now he goes down around 9 or 10 and sleeps til 6, such an amazing feeling to sleep more than 4 hours at a time!

    1. So are you doing the footy pj’s in the swaddle? Or did you switch him and nix the swaddle? Since Abby was born in February (when it’s still super cold here in MT), she’s been in a white under-onsie, footed pjs and a fleece swaddle. Lately I’ve been forgoing the under-onsie (um, is that a word) and just doing pj’s and swaddle. Sounds like your little man is doing very well! Awesome!

  7. You’re doing great mama. You love Abby and she is such a wonderful little girl. However, they always like to keep us on our toes. Ella has always been a good sleeper but we also went through a couple rough patches. I remember when we moved to MT that she went through a two week rough patch. It was a combination of moving to a new place, moving her to her crib and getting used to not being swaddled anymore. My only advice is to have a good bedtime routine that is fairly predictable. i.e. talk about bedtime, read stories, sing and put her down. I swear it helps us. Abby could be teething or maybe she is ready to stop the swaddle. One thing I was very strict on was once she was sleeping through the night I would not feed her if she woke up on the odd night she woke up in the middle of the night (I know many moms will strongly argue agaisnt me and say that I am wrong). But I knew that she could do it and that she woke up for a different reason. It worked well for us and I swear by it but it’s up to you and you know what’s best for Abby. There were only a handful of times that I can count (within the year) when I fed her, it was when she was teething. Who knows, they will always keep you guessing but you will figure it out and Abby will be back to sleeping like a pro. Good luck mama!

    1. Thanks for the advice! It’s so helpful to hear from other people and see what worked for them, etc. It gives me more information to make decisions on what will work for us. I think I’ll be transitioning out of the swaddle soon, so hopefully that helps and doesn’t make it worse.

      I’m interested in your approach with Ella’s waking up at night. Would you go in and rock her back to sleep? Or let her fall back asleep on her own?

      1. If she woke up and just made a few noises I would leave her. But if she woke up crying and needed help we would go in and rub her back and talk to her. If she was really upset we would pick her up and rock her until she calmed down and stay with her for awhile so she knew she was okay….seems like a long time ago!

  8. I just put him in a footed onsie now, no swaddle. Seems to be working, he stays nice and warm. I was hesitant to give up the swaddle but he seems happier without it. I was thinking yesterday too how funny it is that we put so much time and work into their nurseries and then don’t even want them to sleep in there! He still sleeps in a bassinet next to our bed and I can’t bring myself to try moving him to his crib!

    1. Ha…I guess I never really thought about that, but so true about the nursuries. We’re on day two of her crib and it seems to be working out well. But I do miss her. Probably harder for me than her at this point. haha. I think I’ll follow your lead and try to get rid of the swaddle soon…

Leave a Comment!

