random ramblings

I have so many post ideas running through my head, but no time to actually write them!   So instead of prolonging a post, I thought a random ramblings was in order.

Queue angels singing:  I have finally found a green smoothie recipe that tastes good! 

You know…like how Addison on Private Practice is always drinking something green that looks super healthy?  And you think “gosh, if I just had a green smoothie I’d be as hot and beautiful as her.” 

Well folks, here you go.  Courtesy of Freckles Chick:

1 tsp flaxseed
1 spoonful peanut butter
1 cup milk
1/2 cup vanilla yogurt
2 heaping handfuls spinach
1 sliced frozen banana
2-3 sliced strawberries

Freckles Chick makes hers dairy-free, but I used greek yogurt instead of coconut and almond milk instead of rice.  I must say these are just fabulous!  Oh, and I bet you’re wondering if you really need a frozen banana.  Well, I tried it both ways and definitely prefer the frozen because it makes it ice cold (a bit more smoothie-like I guess).   I really like this drink.  It’s healthy, filling, not super sweet and totally doable with a baby.  You should give it a try!  And then check out FC’s blog…she’s quite funny and witty.

So let the Addison transformation begin.   I wonder what I’ll look like with red hair….

I’m working on a post about going back to work, but long-story-short….I quit my job.   Now I spend my days with the cutest cheeky baby around.

IMG_1341

Funny how fast the days go by now. 

But more on that later!

I miss the days when I could sit down and actually enjoy a meal.  You know, where you savor each bite and take your time finishing?  Perhaps over a bottle of wine? 

With a baby?  That doesn’t happen. 

Instead, it’s a race to see if you can get your meal down before the baby cries.   Because like clockwork, as soon as dinner is ready…baby is over it.  And it doesn’t even matter what “it” is.  Sitting in her bouncy chair, playing on a play mat, taking a snooze, being held in my arms.  When the dinner bell chimes, she decides to get fussy. 

I’ve adjusted to eating cold meals hours after they’re done.  Or reheating them in the microwave (which is never the same).   And sometimes skipping the meal all together.   But more often than not…it’s me in a race against a 3 month old.   I’ve never eaten so fast in my life, and I sometimes wonder if I’ll ever truly enjoy a meal again. 

Have you ever experienced any of the following while driving?

  • Excessing tailgating
  • Cars that stop prematurely at a stoplight or stop sign and slowly creep forward by taping their brakes?
  • Cars running yellow lights
  • Friends taking the longest possible route somewhere, just because there are no stoplights?

Of course you have.  We all have.  It’s just that up until now, I thought these people were jackasses.  Half of these people probably truly are jackasses.  The other half?  Turns out they’re all mom’s with babies in the car who are desperately trying to keep the car in motion to keep their baby from screaming. 

Cut them some slack.

In exchange, I’ll try to get my road rage back under control.

So…my friend Stephanie took me to a workout class called Oula for my birthday.  It’s a fitness dance workout to Top 40 hits. 

476362_403966676283267_127872413892696_1654221_1076009091_o[1]

via

Ya’ll….I’m a country-girl.  I like to jitterbug, line dance and stand in a circle of girls while we dance and sing together.   But Oula?  It’s a full-on coordinated 8-count dance routine with hip-hop moves. 

I’m a fish out of water.  But holy hell…it’s SO MUCH FUN!  I think I’m in love.  I’ve even changed my go-to station on XM Radio to “Hit’s 1” instead of “Prime Country.”    Crazy, right? 

Yeah, I’m no good at it yet.  And I’ve only been once.  But I pretty much laughed the entire time WHILE sweating my ass off.  So I’d say that’s a good thing.   I may have to start playing “Just Dance” on my Xbox during Abby’s naps. 

I’m kidding. 

Kind of.

Anyhoo…that’s enough from me for today.  I swear, I’m still working on Abby’s birth story post, and I really do have so many more floating around in my head.   I’m dying to get back here more often, so I will really be trying to figure out how to fit it in.   Seriously, the days go by so fast anymore…you know…after a green smoothie, some tailgating and dance hour…I’m pretty much exhausted.

8 comments

  1. I must try your green smoothie! It sounds delicious! I always love your ramblings. It gives me a glimpse of what’s going on in your head. Plus they make me laugh. And yes, there will be a time when you will be able to sit down and enjoy a meal again. Soon enough Abby will be feeding herself and telling you dinner stories…..just don’t count on it when you go out to dinner, that’s a different story. ;)

  2. Man, I feel your pain on the whole trying to have a meal!!! My question is how these little babies always know its your turn to eat!! Crazy!! And super congrats on being able to quit your job and stay home. I go back to work in 2 weeks and to say I’m dreading it is SUCH an understatement!

    1. I know exactly how you’re feeling…at first the maternity leave seems like it’s moving at a good pace, and then near the end it just flies by. Enjoy these two weeks with little Wyatt!

  3. Next time I’m at your house I want to try the green smoothie! They keep popping up (all over TV these days!) and I’m really not brave enough to go for it myself. So blend away and I’ll wait to be impressed. :)

    ps Maybe we can find an Oula class in Spokane for CW?!!! YES!

    1. I don’t think Oula is in Spokane yet, but I’ll verify! It would be hilarious.

      And yes, I’ll be happy to blend you up a greeny next time you’re down!

  4. We are going to have a weekly Oula Date to add to our schedule in a couple of weeks!! What does Tuesday at 9:00am look like for you? I bet Mykell would watch Abby for you for an hour or so…or there is always the Gym Daycare!!! What do you think???
    I am going to try your green smoothie..Yummy. Does looking like Addison happen right after drinking it???? I sure hope so…could use that body for my trip!

    1. LOL….yes, you should see my arms. They are amazing. And all of a sudden I’m talking in medical terms. It’s so weird.

      And yes, let’s have an Oula date! I’ll have to pick your brain on the gym daycare. :)

Leave a Comment!

