oodles of doodles

I can usually pass up a lemon-flavored treat.  Forget the lemon bars or meringue pie; give me some chocolate! 

However, I’ve noticed my post-pregnancy tastes have changed a little bit.  For example, I’m now a fan of buffalo wings (sick, I know),  have been craving white wine (when I usually never touched anything but red), and found myself salivating over this month’s sweet treat in Martha’s Everday Food mag:

Glazed Citrus Doodles

I must have them.

So I threw caution to the wind and decided to give them a whirl.   Abby is being much better about just “hanging out” when she isn’t sleeping, so I thought these might be a good excuse to try my hand at baking when home alone with her.   I’ve always loved to cook and bake and I’ve missed it terribly.

I just prayed that I didn’t waste this precious time on a lemon.  tee hee. 

The batter was quite easy to whip up…the only setback was that the butter needed to be room temperature.  (Do you know you can put it in a bowl of warm water – wrapper and all – to get it to room temperature quickly?)

IMG_1493

They cook fairly quickly…just 13 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

IMG_1494

IMG_1495

Once cooled, I whipped up the glaze, which was also super quick.

IMG_1497

Then you  just spread a small amount of the glaze over each cookie and let it sit for an hour.  The glaze will harden up so you can store them on top of one another in an airtight container.

IMG_1498

Of course I didn’t wait an hour to eat one, and I must say these are quite delicious.  They have orange and lemon in them, which I find quite refreshing.

The cookies themselves are nice and chewy/soft, which is a must for any cookie that passes these lips.  

IMG_1502

My final verdict?  I like the Doodle.  I’d make these once in a while to mix up my chocolate chip cookie routine, or if I were going to a summer pot luck or something.    And they were totally do-able with baby.  I just had a few instances where I took a break to entertain her.  And of course once you start baking them you get a good 15 minutes in-between batches to play. 

I couldn’t find the recipe online, so here it is for those of you interested.

Glazed Citrus Doodles

IMG_1504

  • 2 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 tb baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temp.
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 tb grated orange zest, plus 3 tb juice (from 2 oranges)
  • 4 tsp lemon zest, plus 3 tb juice (from 2 lemons)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

1.  Preheat oven to 350, with racks in upper and lower thirds.  Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.  In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter, granulated sugar, 1 tb orange zest and 2 tsp lemon zest on medium-high until pale and fluffy, 3 minutes, scraping down bowl as needed.  Beat in eggs, one at a time.  Add flour mixture; beat to combine. 

2.  Roll dough into 1-inch balls and place 2 inches apart, on parchment-lined baking sheets.  Bake until edges are lightly golden, 12 to 15 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through.  Let cool on sheets on wire racks 5 minutes, then transfer cookies to racks and let cool completely.

3.  Whisk together 1 tb orange zest, 2 tsp lemon zest, citrus juices and confectioners’ sugar until smooth.  With a small spoon, spread glaze over each cookie.  Let set 1 hour. 

Store in airtight containers, up to 3 days.

Makes 36-40.

4 comments

  1. You may also want to search for cornstarch cookies. They are like the delicate lemon cookies you get at Catalyst, and the cornstarch makes them melt in your mouth. Im not a big lemon or lime fan, but those cookies rock. I have a recipe at home if you are interested and can’t find one online.

  2. Yum! Unlike you I have always loved lemon. I will have to add these to my list…perhaps you decided to make these for Bloomsday?! :)

  3. I also saw this recipe in MSF and thought about trying it. I was having a strange lemon craving (what’s up with that?) so I made lemon vanilla cupcakes instead, which were yummy, but these sound a bit easier! Next time I have a lemon craving I will give them a try. ps. yes, a sampling for the Bloomsday crew would be lovely. :)

Leave a Comment!

