thankful

Today I am thankful for many things. 

But mostly for pumpkin whoopie pies.

What? 

You thought I was going to get all sappy on you and talk about the things that I’m truly thankful for, didn’t you? 

Well, you’re in luck because I’m actually going to do that too…I’m pregnant remember?  I’m sappy unless I’m bitchy.   And today I’m sappy.  So far. 

But back to the pumpkin whoopie pies.  I brought some to work this week for a co-worker who hearts pumpkin even more than I do (if it’s possible.  I like pumpkin.  A lot).   I tried out a new recipe (which is always risky when you’re the one bringing birthday treats), but these were ah-mazing.  Not too sweet and just the right amount of pumpkin.  I may or may not have eaten four.    I guess the baby likes pumpkin too.  

So today I am thankful for pumpkin whoopie pies and their deliciousness.  Don’t worry, I’ll be sharing the recipe with all of you next week.

Now.  As my grandma would say, I’d “feel cheap” if I titled a post “thankful” and only talked about whoopie pies.  So I’ll attempt to report a few things without getting too long-winded on y’all…here goes.

  • I’m thankful for my husband.  Even though I give him a hard time and often don’t understand him…I couldn’t ask for a better person to spend the rest of my life with.  With him I know I will always be exposed to new adventures and encouraged to try new things, but will also have support and stability.   He reminds me to focus on the fun aspect of life instead of getting bogged down by the obligations of it.   He makes me laugh, makes me think and inspires me to step out of my comfort zone.  He also reminds me that no matter how hurried life is we should always make time for a beer with our friends.  
  • I’m thankful for my sisters and the bond that we share.  I can’t imagine my life without them and am so grateful everyday for the love and support that they provide.  I know how incredibly lucky I am to have that.
  • I’m thankful for my family (immediate, extended and by marriage) and how close we are.  Again I know how rare it can be to have a loving and supportive family.  And while we certainly have our quirks, I’m so thankful for the values and traditions that are such a part of who I am. 
  • I’m thankful for my job in a time where they’re hard to come by.  And my co-workers who make my job bearable most days!
  • I’m thankful for having a warm house, a full belly and not having to worry about basic necessities.  I know not everyone is so fortunate.
  • I’m thankful for my fluffy dog who is my constant companion.  I know some people don’t (or can’t) understand the bond between a person and their dog, but I’m constantly amazed at how much love I have for that little critter.   She truly brings more joy to my life than I can explain.  People could learn a thing or two from a dog’s loyalty and unconditional love.
  • I’m thankful for this blog!  I’ve made so many special connections with old friends, new friends and other bloggers through it and am so touched by each and every reader, comment and lurker.   Ha.  Seriously.  Just the fact that one person takes the time to read what I’m writing blows my mind.  It’s been such a great outlet for me this past year and I’m so thankful for having the courage to start it and keep it up. 
  • I’m thankful for our baby and a healthy pregnancy.  Each little kick reminds me of how lucky I am to have her with me and I simply cannot wait to meet her.   Even if she is turning me into a crazy person right now.  But it’s kind of amazing how much love you can have for a person that you’ve never met.  
  • I’m thankful for my friends, near or far.   No matter how long goes between our visits I know we can always pick up where we left off.  I’m so thankful for the laughter, advice and connection we share. 
  • I’m thankful for little things too….like coffee, chocolate, cheese and frosting.  Oh, and beer and wine!  Good God beer and wine.  We will be reunited soon my friends.

I could keep going, I’m sure.  But these are the cream of the crop.  Le creme’ de la creme’.   I’m a pretty lucky girl. 

Now Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  I hope you have a wonderful day filled with food, fun, laughter and family.  

And if you’re lucky maybe some whoopie pies.

3 comments

Leave a Comment!

