A little bit ‘o Halloween

I’m a little (ok a lot) late getting my Halloween decorations out.  The past month has been a little bit hectic with the traveling, testing and family affairs.   So I almost skipped getting my decorations out but decided that getting a few things out a little late couldn’t hurt!  Besides, it’s fun to be a little festive this time of year.

I wasn’t quite sure where I was going to decorate this year.  In the past I’ve used our hutch in the kitchen and my favorite leaning bookcase in the living room.  Ideally, I’d have a console table in our living room that could act as a base for all of our seasonal decorating, but I haven’t quite gotten that far yet in our living room update.   In fact, since moving our new couch in, our leaning bookcase has a new home just inside our front door acting as a placeholder until I can find said console table.  It’s not perfect, but it works for now.  So that’s where I decided to put just a few of my favorite Halloween items.

    IMG_4009

IMG_4006

IMG_4007

The cat candy dish is always a favorite…and I found it at Safeway a few years back.  Random?  Completely.   Although the Hubs accused me of trying to ration his M&M consumption because he can’t get “enough” in one handful.  Oh the horror…

And then there’s my favorite spooky old tree…

IMG_4008

Have I mentioned how much I love pumpkin anything??  Well yes, I do.  So I also whipped up a batch of my favorite pumpkin chocolate chip cookies to have on hand.  We’ll see how long they last…

IMG_4011

Perhaps someday I’ll share the recipe for these as well. 

So it’s not much, but it’s definitely gotten me a little bit more in the Halloween spirit!  I’m hoping to spruce up our front porch soon with some cornstalks and pumpkins.  If I do, I’ll be sure to share. 

Have any of you done any Halloween decorating?  Or did you almost miss the boat like I did this year?  Anyone else out there a sucker for anything and everything pumpkin??

2 comments

  1. Pumpkin lover: yes! Halloween decorations: not yet But I did haul out the totes yesterday and I have high hopes of getting things out in the next day or two. I have a hankering for some muffins…so maybe I’ll whip up a batch of my favorite pumpkin ones, yum! Happy Halloween to you!
    ps. I saw a spooky black witche’s broom at Pier 1 that reminds me of your tree…

Leave a Comment!

