The perfect cookie

I’m not even kidding.  I would never kid about a cookie.

These are THE  most delicious, addictive, waist-expanding cookies you’ll ever sink your teeth into.  Since stumbling across this recipe, we’ve had fresh cookies in our house pretty consistently.  I’ve made them so many times I don’t even need the recipe card anymore (not that they’re hard by any means).  These are the cookies I used to blame for my tight pants…at least before I got pregnant.

 Yes, these cookies are perfect.  If perfect means soft, chewy, sweet and addictive.   In fact, I heavily debated whether or not to even post this recipe.  Part of me wanted to keep it all to myself so I would be the only one who could make such a wonderful treat!  The one people invited over just in case she’d bring her famous cookies along.  The domesticated goddess.  The girl who could do it all, plus make a fantastic cookie. 

In the end, I decided that perfection should not be hoarded, it should be shared.  Besides, I certainly didn’t make the recipe up…I stumbled across it myself a few years ago on the Blonde Designs Blog.  My life hasn’t been the same since, and neither will yours.

Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs + 2 eggs yolks
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • chocolate chips

How to:

Preheat oven to 325.   Place butter and sugars in microwave-safe bowl and heat until butter just starts to melt.  Mix with a wooden spoon.  Add eggs and vanilla and mix well.  Add flour, salt and baking soda.  Mix until just combined (mixing is easier said than done in this step, you may have to dig in and use your hands).

Add chocolate chips (I usually do 3/4 cup, you might prefer a bit more).

Bake for 12-15 minutes until just starting to brown.

If you have patience – let the cookies cool, then enjoy. 

You’re welcome.  Now go buy some bigger pants.

7 comments

  1. Um yes, these are the best cookies ever! I have made them several times and everytime someone comments on how delicious they are. I would love to take credit for them but I always give my sister credit for her recipe. :) I have a sweet tooth today…maybe I should use my free time to whip up a batch. Hmm.

  2. As a cookie lover myself, I will give this recipe 4 stars! In fact, I love these cookies so much that I had to steal the recipe off the kitchen counter a while back…and then call for help when it was time to melt the butter. Thankfully Janna came to the rescue and I’ve been enjoying these cookies ever since. YUM!
    ps. Everyone should have a pair of cookie pants, no questions asked.

  3. They do look awesome. I just made some and they’re all I’ve eaten for a few days almost – I’ve had work etc… these look really incredible. Perhaps I shall also steal the recipe :P

Leave a Comment!

