…and your angry eyes too!

Anyone else remember that line from Toy Story!?  It’s in your best interest to just smile and nod.  Read on…

Guys, something is happening to me and I can’t seem to stop it.  I am angry.  And annoyed.  Like, 90% of the time.  And it’s not even legitimate anger!  It’s random and irrational.  Things that I used to just brush off are now HUGE deals.   

I have never experienced this before in my life!  Typically I roll with the punches pretty easily and not too much ruffles my feathers.  But man.  These days you just look at me wrong and I’m on the fight!     For example, as you know I have a few things on Craigslist right now.  Yesterday I got an email from someone who said she was interested in the rug  (coincidently she had emailed me last week asking what my lowest price was.  Um, my lowest price is what I have listed you moron.  $75.  If I was willing to go any lower I would have listed that price).  Ugh, anyways, fast forward one week.  Now all of a sudden she’s interested again.  She asked if I would take $40 (presumably because it’s been posted for over a week), and I said, no, but now I’m willing to consider $60.  She’s still interested.  She asks if she can come over and look at it, but she’s only in town for a few hours.  I text her right back and say, “sure, I’m actually headed home for lunch right now and could meet you anytime between 1:00 and 2:00.”   I hear nothing back.  I call her.  She doesn’t answer so I leave a voice mail.  Nothing.  Nada.  Zip. 

I have yet to hear back from her and I’m livid about it!  She’s totally jacking me around and it’s pissing me off.  I’ve always been quick to reply and even offered to work around her  busy schedule, as if I want to spend my lunch hour waiting for someone to come look at a rug.  If she changed her mind or wasn’t interested anymore, just tell me.     Have the common courtesy (that I extended to YOU) and let me know.  Seriously!  I mean, I know, I know.  I’m expecting to much out of a Craigslister…but I don’t think she realizes she’s messing with a hormonal pregnant woman. 

See how irrational this is? 

Oh, and at the Dr. last week they couldn’t get me out of there fast enough which completely irritated me.  I’m sorry, but this is my first pregnancy and maybe, just maybe I might have some questions.  But if you’re obviously rushing me through the door I may not feel comfortable asking them.  Obviously you have somewhere better to be than with your 12th appointment for the day.  I may be just a number to you lady, but you don’t have to make me feel that way.   Oh, and the nurse who typically gives me the 10 minute instruction on how to pee in a cup without contaminating the sample?  Says to me:  “bathroom’s right there, there are Dixie cups on the back of the toilet.  Pee in there and leave it on the bench for me.”   Um….I’m sorry….but is that the same set of Dixie cups you offered me water out of last month?  I thought so.  How in the hell is that sanitary?!   And where the hell are the special sanitizing wipes and the screw-on plastic cup?  Honestly…if some emergency was happening in the office you could (a) let me know that things are a little hectic that day or (2) reschedule.   Don’t just waste my time…and if my urine sample comes back funky I’m not making an extra trip in to re-sample. 

See what I’m talking about?  I’m like a crazy person.  I’m a woman on the verge.  Luckily I still have enough sanity intact to apply a filter most of the time, but my worst fear is that I’ll start acting out on some of these over-reactions.  Like the time The Hubs and I went out to dinner and wanted a seat outside.  The host said that they didn’t have any seats available and I instantly snapped back, “There are plenty of tables available outside, I just saw them!”    To which he replied, “yes, but those are reserved.”    Doh.   The Hubs gave me the side-eye for once that day.

It’s more than that too….it’s the dishes in the sink.  The mugs that didn’t get put back in the cupboard right.  The dirty bathroom.  My dead flowers out back that withered up and died because we are never home.  The fender on my cruiser that is loose and making my cruiser rides noisy.   My tight jeans.  Work, period.  They are all irritating the crap out of me. 

I’ve been trying to hide it though because I know it’s all ridiculous.  There’s no reason to lash out at The Hubs because he didn’t put my collection of Starbucks mugs away with the handles facing out.  At least he unloaded the dishwasher, right?   

I’m trying to remind myself to not sweat the small stuff.  And as my friend Kirsten always says….we have nothing to be upset about!   Really, nothing.    I’m healthy and pregnant, I have a good job, The Hubs has a good job.  We don’t worry about where our next meal will come from.  We have a roof over our heads.  I have a cute little fluffball that brightens my day just by being happy to see me.   I  have wonderful family and friends.  So truly, there is no good reason I should let simple things like this ruin my day….or worse, ruin someone else’s day.    So what do you do when forces of nature try to sabotage your perfectly wonderful life?    For one, I’m cursing at praying to the hormone-Gods that this phase passes quickly, and two, shopping for some maternity clothes so my pants don’t feel tight anymore. 

I think that’s a good start.

5 comments

  1. Oh boy does that sound familiar!!! I wish I could mail you my maternity clothes!!! I can send you a few pairs of jeans if you want :). Go with the full panel, I lived the belly support they gave me even though I didn’t really fill them out till later in the pregnancy. There is a brand “serephanie” that has the BEST maternity leggings…I lived in those :).

    1. I wish you could too!!! I’ll look into the leggings…although I’m a tad bit terrified of them….I’m not sure I can pull off that look. :) I might take you up on the jean offer…..I’ll give you a call!!

  2. Aye, aye, aye! Those days are the worst and they definitely make you question your sanity. Hang in there and don’t be too hard on yourself, we all have those thoughts, moments, and outbursts…and some of us aren’t even pregnant! ha ha We all know and love you for the sweet person you are, even if the hormones get the best of you once in a while, that’s just being human. ps. My treasure chest of maternity clothes will be headed your way shortly…

  3. So it has begun. No worries. It’s normal, it may not be fun but it is part of the process. At least you know you are being hormonal. It’s okay to have these days and they will only continue. When you feel your baby kick for the first time it will be a gentle reminder that all the craziness and angry eyes are worth it. :)

Leave a Comment!

