It’s been awhile!

Hello, my name is Janna.  I used to blog here.

Yes I’ve been absent for a while and my deepest apologies.  But as you read here, I’m rested and I’m ready to jump back in the saddle.   Speaking of saddles….we’ve had ourselves a nice little summer.  So I thought I’d fill you in on what the going-ons have been around our house since we last spoke.

River of No Return

Our summer vacation this year was seven days down the Wild and Scenic Main Salmon River through Idaho.  Dubbed the “River of No Return” because of its seclusion (and in my opinion, its big whitewater), it never disappoints.  They say drawing a permit for the Middle Fork or the Main stretch of the Salmon River is the “rafters equivalent of Willie Wonka’s Golden Ticket.”   This was Eric’s 4th Golden Ticket ride down the Main and my second.

I kept a river journal (surprised?  and hand-written mind you…it ain’t proper to take electronics when you’re surrounded by thousands of feet of cubic water each day).  So I plan on sharing those entries as well as some pictures to fill you in on that adventure. 

4-year Anniversary

We celebrated our 4-year Anniversary this year by spending 6 hours in the car with 3 other people who hadn’t showered for a week.   What?  That’s not your idea of romantic?

4Runner

After 7 years of debating whether “her” truck was better than “his” (it wasn’t), and two years of saving every spare penny….the Tangedahl’s have finally entered the weird world of chauffering passengers.  Out with the old and in with the new I suppose.  Isn’t she a beaut?  She’s a 2011 Toyota 4Runner SR5 and she is beautiful inside and out.   Although I curse myself every time I catch myself referring to my vehicle as “my truck.”  That has always been one of my biggest pet peeves:   SUVs are not trucks!  While trucks are awesome,  4runners are beautiful.

Race(s)

Bad news to report here.  I didn’t end up doing either of the Half Marathons I signed up for.  Remember?   The first one due to lack of desire/training being viciously attacked by a pack of wolves and the second due to the flu (for real). 

However, I do have good news to report!  The Hubs is awesome.  Duh.  But really, now he is awesome + oh-so-inpiring.  He ran in the appropriately-called  Elkhorn HURL 23k a few weeks ago….and took 5TH.   This was a trail run through the Elkhorn mountains near Helena.  The course gains 3000 feet of elevation (I’m sorry, but at that point I’m hiking, not running).  He rocked it though (as usual) but I was so excited to see him round the corner as the 5th person across the finish line.  Congratulations to him!   At least one of us can represent….even if it is all considered “Hunting Training” for one of us.  (Hint, I don’t hunt).

The state of affairs at our house

You could say I have a minor major project  going on at home.  Here’s what our living room looks like these days:

Aye Carumba

Poor Summit looks a little confused about the whole thing.  I’m sure she’s wondering how she’s supposed to sneakily lay on the couch all day if there is no couch.  Yep, we are now couchless and chairless thanks to my new best friend Craigslist. 

It’s clear that we aren’t home enough to sit on the ‘ol thing anyways, right?

I’m hoping that in a few short days that rug and coffee table will be gone as well.   I finally decided that it was  time to pull the trigger on a living room revamp.  We’d I’d been “making-do” with hand-me-downs for five years now and I’m ready to make it something more reflective of my our tastes.  I’m soooooo excited!  Don’t worry, you’ll all be around for the transformation. 

Blackfoot multi-day

Just in case you’re wondering about Summit…she’s enjoying summer as well.  She typically accompanies us on all of our adventures, with this past weekend being no exception.  We spent 3 days and 2 nights on the Blackfoot river, which is just outside of Missoula.  I guess you could say she enjoyed herself:

The Bump

I’m hoping this revelation sheds some light onto some of the strange happenings over the past few months.  Like not wanting (or being too tired) to run, getting deathly sick (I did have the flu, just could not recover for.ev.er), and skipping out on the ‘ol blog for awhile…..sad:

Yep…we got our “two pink lines” and I’m thrilled to tell you I’m pregnant!  I’m just over 16 weeks along and due January 27th.  We are 98% excited, 2% terrified (and sometimes vice-versa).   Kidding aside, I have to say we can’t wait to be parents and have actually been wanting to for several years.  So this is extremely exciting and wonderful and scary all at the same time. 

“Yes” I went on the river trip pregnant and “no” it was not as fun this time.   You’ll hear all about that in my river journal.   And “yes” this is what ultimately forced the hand on that beautiful 4runner.  Apparently it’s ill-advised to put a car seat in the back of a truck.

Anyways, I’m looking forward to this journey and sharing it with all of you.  This whole pregnancy thing is wild.  The Hubs could probably tell you a few stories about my experiences with raging hormones….so it’s a good thing that (1) this isn’t his blog and (2) he used up his allotted “word count” in his last guest post

So my friends, it’s been a busy month-and-half, no?   Like I said, I’m stoked to be back  in the saddle and can’t wait to see what these next few months hold.

13 comments

  1. WOW!!! So much to report in the short time you’ve been taking a blog-break. LOT’S to look forward to in your house…can’t wait to take the journey with you!!! Happy happy days to come. :) xoxo Antie E

  2. Uh, oh! The beans have been spilled. Congratulations! Can’t wait to hear the blow-by-blow over the next several months:)

    Erin

  3. That was 7 blogs in one. Regarding mini-blog #7 about the impending mini-Tangedahl….yea!!!!!! I can’t wait! This also officially gives YOU a reason to own a Wipey Wallet. If you run across great fabric, I need 1/3 of a yard, and I will reimburse you, and create YOU a Wipey! Or, I will come over and you can pick through my 200 fabrics. I enjoy reading your blog, and I’m glad to see you are back at it.

  4. Janna –

    OH MY GOSH!!!! Teaches me a lesson…even if busy, NEVER EVER only read part of your blog! I totally missed your HUGE news since I didn’t read the entire entry!! AHHHHHHH, I’m SOOOOOOOO excited for you guys! AHHHHHHHHH, I’m so excited for you guys! Oh, I just said that! ;)

    AHHHHHHHHHH, I’m SOOOOOOO excited for you guys!!!

    Much love!
    – L

  5. Janna,

    I just heard the news about your new baby. That is so exciting and your blog about your raging hormones makes me smile. I’m due with #2 in 1 month and, even though it’s #2, I’m also 98% excited and 2% terrified (or 100% terrified depending on the day). Keep us posted!

    Tina

    1. Thanks Tina!! I saw that you were ready for #2 soon…Congrats!! You and Liza are so cute with your little pregnant bellies. I just hope I can be as darling. :)

Leave a Comment!

