First, the good news…

This past weekend beau-ti-ful in Missoula (or so I hear….I was out-of-town working).  So how do I know?  Plants don’t lie.  And look what I came home to…

That’s right people.  Those are our potatoes TOTALLY GROWING.  I could pee my pants I’m so excited.  What’s that you say?  You want a close up?  Ok…

Awesome right?!  If you missed the whole background on these potato towers, you can read about them here.    Remember we don’t put anymore dirt on top…just straw.  So I promptly found our bag ‘o straw and loaded them up. 

Confession:  there was a big black ugly spider on the bag ‘o straw so I screamed bloody murder and waited for the Hubs to get home and told him to do it.  Like any rational person would.  

Now we just wait to see more of the green stuff popping up through here.  I tell you what, I feel like a real farmer Jane here.  I know, I know….these are small potatoes (har har) compared to most people (take for example our friends Mitch and Jenn, whose garden is about 20 times as big as ours.   They are like professionals).  But we are excited nonetheless.  Remember I’m the girl who can’t keep a house plant alive, so this is kind of a big deal.

So let’s check in on the garden, eh?

I know.  You’re totally impressed now.  Yes that is spinach growing like a mad man and YES those are sprouts popping up all over the place.  We are totally stoked!

But with successes come failures.  And I’m keeping it real with all of you…so it’s only fair you hear about those too.  Remember these little lovelies I planted awhile back? 

They no longer exist.  They died on me maybe two days later.  Wop wop.  Ironically they were called the “Hello Gorgeous” mix….when they should really be called “Hello I’m going to die if you transplant me” mix.   Oh well.  You can’t win them all, eh?  So if you look in my garden pic above you’ll see that some pansies and lobelia have taken their place….and are doing very well thankyouverymuch.  Proving it:

And the Hello Gorgeous failure isn’t the only one to speak of.  I’m pretty sure my cucumber is on the outs….

She’s not lookin so hot, is she?  I figure we’ll give her a couple more days and if things don’t turn around….we’ll give ‘er the ax.  Heck, I’m sure there’s something else I can plant in that square foot that will flourish.  Times a wasting and I don’t have time for things that want to die on me. 

Those are my two biggest failures so far.  I’m sure there will be more…but for now I’m kinda just digging that our potatoes are growing.  Finally.  And everything else seems to be doing well too…so we might just get a salad or two from our own backyard this year!   If we want more than that, I suppose we’ll just have to steal it from Mitch and Jenn use our potatoes to barter with friends for some squash or something.

9 comments

  1. Lookin’ good! Amazing what a little sunshine will do to speed things along! FYI my cucumber isn’t looking so hot either…are we missing something?

    1. I feel like maybe we are. Perhaps I’ll do an “ask the expert” post and get someone more experienced to assess my cucumber situation!

  2. heck, if you only have two things die so far you are doing pretty darn good in my book. I can’t wait to see (and taste) your garden, it looks great!

  3. My cucumbers are looking about the same as yours. Hopefully when the sun decides to come back and stay they will perk up.

  4. who knew you would have a green thumb! Great job! I have had to simplify my life this year. so I had to give up my garden but hopefully next year! to bad the weeds didn’t give up either =-) Jill

Leave a Comment!

