Danish Puff

My official opinion on delicious, flaky breakfast pastries is: yes please. 

Something wonderful cursed happened in my late twenties and now I can hardly resist breakfast pastries….be it a vanilla cream scone, almond croissant, gooey cinnamon roll or a pumpkin muffin…I’m smitten.  Sometimes I long for the days when those things wouldn’t even turn my head.  But the reality is I would be missing out on some of my favorite treats if I did that. 

So I tried my hand at making my own Danish Puff last week and the results were really good!  I can’t decide if it’s a good or bad thing that I know how to make this now….which is why I’m passing this knowledge off to all of you.   Enjoy! 

Ooh la la Danish Puff

Pastry:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 TB water
1/2 cup butter or margarine

Filling:
1 cup water
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1 cup all-purpose flour
3 eggs
1/2 tsp almond extract

Frosting:
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
1 tb butter or margarine, softened
1/2 tsp almond extract
1 to 2 tb milk

Preheat oven to 350

To prepare pastry, combine flour, water and butter, cutting in with two knives to form dough similar to a pie crust.  My mom taught me a cool trick for this:  put your butter in the freezer for a little bit, then use a cheese grater to shred it.  This will help incorporate the butter better, and also keep it super cold (which apparently is the secret to a flaky pie crust)!

I was pretty darn skeptical that 1 tb water was going to absorb into 1 cup of flour.  But if you just keep mixing it (by hand) it will work!

Roll the dough out flat and cut into long thin strips.  Mine were about 9×4.

Next, to prepare the filling, combine water and butter in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil.    Remove from heat and add flour; stir until smooth and let sit for a minute until luke warm.

Next, add eggs one at a time, stirring until completely incorporated each time.

Add almond extract.  Pour (ok it’s more like “spread”) evenly over crusts. 

Bake 55 to 60 minutes until golden brown.  They will be a bit crusty on top and that’s ok!

If you’re going to be eating these right away, put the frosting on and serve.  If you’re making them the night-before (like I was), let cool, then put frosting on. 

To prepare frosting, combine confectioners’ sugar, butter and almond flavoring.  Add milk, a little at a time, until frosting is spreading consistency.  Spread over baked puff. 

Whoops, someone snuck a bite. I had to make sure it was good, right?!

I cut mine diagonally, but next time I’d probably cut them straight across so all of the pieces are the same size.   I also prefer to top mine with sliced almonds, just to add a nice crunch. 

These puffs are divine!  Nice and gooey on the inside with a yummy flaky crust and that oh-so-sweet almond frosting and flavor.  It’s hard to eat just one.  Trust me.  So if you’re looking for a treat to make this weekend, give these a try!  Be sure to let me know how it goes!

3 comments

  1. Sounds delicious…and like trouble! You know I am a sucker for almond pastries. I’ll have to try this when we have company so I am not tempted to eat the whole thing.

  2. I’m not sure whether to thank you or hate you right now! Love, love, love breakfast pastries. Thanks for yet another fabulous recipe.

  3. Yes please. I will try this next, but first I must conquer your cheesecake recipe…giving it a go this weekend! And yes, I will report back.

Leave a Comment!

