Mirror Mirror on the wall…

Some of you may have noticed I’ve been taunting you with a bathroom project “reveal” for at least a month now.   Ok fine, probably more than a month.  Obviously I’ve been avoiding the subject but it’s because I ran into a slight roadblock.  But we’ll get to that.

The project was simple:  frame my a bathroom mirror.  I chickened out last-minute on framing our master bath and instead opted for the small bathroom just off the kitchen.  Perfect place for some trial and error!

Here was the plan:

1.  Measure mirror and head to Home Depot to select some molding.  They have all sorts of different molding available but I decided to keep it simple for this first run.   Save yourself some time and buy the pre-primed pieces, and also cut them to size right there at the store.

This is after I had The Hubs cut the 45 degree angles on the edges - oh and one of the boards is MIA obviously. There should be four total!

2.  Assemble the pieces together as a frame, securing with liquid nails.

3.  Put masking tape over the newly secured corners and let dry for at least 24 hours.

4.  Pick the frame up and proclaim:  “Wow!  That was easier than I thought.”  As the frame breaks into two pieces.  Repeat step 2 and 3.

There ain't no way this frame is breaking this time!

5.  Once frame is securely fastened, fill the cracks with spackling and let dry.

The putty I had was pink....it turns white when it is fully dry.

6.  Lightly sand the recently filled cracks.

I think I used 200 grit sand paper. Something super light.

7.  Now you’re ready to paint.  And let me just say:  I tried.  I tried so hard to resist the urge to paint this frame black!   Because trust me, that was my first instinct.  Instead I thought I’d try a metallic silver; I’d read in another blog that the metallic spray paints are actually pretty good.  So I thought what the heck?  I’ll give it a try.

Hmmm.  Turns out the silver wasn’t really doing it for me, but I thought:  “No, pumpkin, no.”  Just wait!  Give it a chance.

So I waited.  I gave it another coat.   Still didn’t like it.

I waited some more.   Still didn’t like it.

I moved it into the bathroom to see it in “it’s element.”  Still didn’t like it.

And this is where it has been resting ever since:

Yep.  Just sittin there.  Not mounted to the wall or anything.  Just hanging out, trying to convince me that the metallic silver is good enough.   I can’t really explain what wasn’t working for  me either.  I think the silver just looked too fake and it didn’t offer enough contrast from the wall coloring.  You know, like black would have done.  It doesn’t help that we have those black countertops in the bathrooms as well.  In my opinion it limits the color possibilities.

All signs really were pointing back to black.  So this past weekend I picked up a little bit of this at the store:

Come to momma...

Am I destined to live amongst all black furniture?  Is this some sort of addiction?  Why does no other color speak to me or seem to work in my house?!

The decision has been made though.  Black it is.  I’ll be back with an update soon (I promise, really, soon this time)!

9 comments

  1. You know what you like and you stick to it. I see no problem! Black goes with everything. Not only is your furniture black your wardrobe is too.;) I like the project though, simple and adds a nice a lot to the bathroom.

  2. I agree with you that the silver just doesn’t cut it. Reminds me of the tin man in Wizard of Oz for some reason. What is that all aboot?

  3. I love learning about all these new products…can’t wait to see how you ‘hang’ that frame to the mirror. At one time I paid beaucoup $ to get some mirrors framed and I need to know how this ends up!

Leave a Comment!

