Favorite Things: Nursery (Post 1)

One of the best things about being the last of your friends to have kids is that you get to learn from all of their mistakes soak up all of their wisdom.  And one of my favorite things has been to watch all of the fun, new, creative nurserys transform before my eyes.    So, I thought it might be fun to share a couple of my very favorites with you. 

First up, my sister Erin (and hubs Rob) and their nursery for their son Conner.  Maybe it’s the whole big-sister-thing…but I’ve always looked up to Erin.  She has this amazing ability to do a million things well.   I on the other hand….can do a lot of things sort-of well.  She’s got incredible attention to detail and never skimps on the little things (thoughtful cards, hostess gifts, thank you notes).  She’s extremely creative, can sew like a mad-woman, design amazing landscapes (she’s a landscape designer) and craft with the best of them.  She’s got excellent taste on top of it all.  So I wasn’t surprised when I fell in love with her nursery at first sight. 

So, without further ado…welcome to Conner’s happy little home:

Here's a shot from the doorway looking into the room. Erin kept the sex of the baby a surprise...didn't she do an amazing job keeping the room neutral? I love it! I also love how the shape of the room makes it feel more cozy.

I love this anchored shelf! Perfect for books, stuffed animals, or things you don't want kids to reach yet...like my sisters sterling silver baby cup.

Here's her changing table. Isn't that tree adorable?! Conner sure does have a good view while he's getting his diaper changed! I wish I had a close-up of the fun knobs she put on that dresser; cute green ones from Anthropologie.

Everyone was asked to bring their favorite childhood book as a gift at one of Erin's baby showers. So she had a special library started before he was even born!

I thought this was sweet....it says "You are my Sunshine."

The sign on Conner's door.

Isn’t this just the sweetest nursery you’ve ever seen?  What is your favorite part?  I’m torn between the touching signs, that awesome tree by the changing table and the sentimental momentos like my sister’s own little baby cup.   She did an amazing job and Conner is one lucky little man! 

Don't you just want to squeeze him?

I do!

Stay tuned….there’s more nursery-love coming your way tomorrow!

5 comments

  1. Oh Auntie JJ, you are too kind (and too modest!) Thank you for the lovely compliments all around but don’t forget you have some impressive skills of your own! Just think what we could accomplish if we pooled all our best traits together and threw in Amy’s to top it off! We could be UNSTOPABLE! Just some food for thought…. :)

    1. I think you’re pretty much already unstopable! But yeah. I guess we would kinda rock our socks off.

      BTW…I just noticed that these pictures were taken before your rocker was in there. Whoopsie Daisy. Maybe someday I’ll have to do an update. Or maybe I should have asked you for pictures. Either way….sorry ’bout that. It’s fabulous all the same!

  2. I completely agree with you Janna! Erin is amazing and so very good at all the little details! I can’t imagine if the O’Connell girls put all their talents in one thing they definately would be unstopable! I would hire you!

  3. Yup, I agree with everything you said about our seesta Erin. Aren’t we lucky to have a sister like her that we can both look up to. She is pretty darn special, but don’t forget about yourself too!

Leave a Comment!

