Sunday Frittata

I’m a planner by nature and profession; I guess that makes me pretty detail-oriented which I’m sure totally annoys the Hubs.  But I choose to embrace it, which is why I try to spend at least a small part of Sunday getting ready for the week.  Something I’ve recently started doing (after staring longingly at my friend Stephanie’s frittata every week while drinking my protein shake) is make a Frittata to have on hand for a healthy breakfast (or lunch or dinner if in a pinch) during the week.  I find it saves me a ton of time in the morning before work because I can just cut a slice and take it with me, or if I’m really lucky, eat at home with Matt and Meredith.  Anyone else love waking up to them? 

This week’s frittata was a compilation of whatever leftover veggies I had on hand, which included red/green peppers, zucchini, mushrooms and red onion.  I chose to use Gruyere cheese…because what isn’t better with a little cheese??  Here’s the quick and easy recipe I use!

Wait…I should preface this whole post by saying I’m no Bobby Flay, Giada or Julia Child.  I like to cook.  I like to watch people cook.  I like to learn about cooking.  And after lots of practice and exploring I think I’m pretty good at it…but I make my mistakes.  I’ve burned things you wouldn’t think you could burn.  I’ve forgotten ingredients.  I’ve doubled some ingredients and not others.  I’ve mis-measured.  I pretty much have my mom on speed-dial when I try a new recipe (she knows what’s coming when I call and start out “soooo….I’m at the grocery store….).  I’ve killed yeast more time than I can count.  I’ve had to order pizza because my meal turned out awful.  Basically…I’ve done it all.  So just keep that in your back pocket whenever I post about recipes or cooking.  Mmmmkay?     

Anyways, back to the Frittata.  First, I like to chop up everything I’ll be needing, so if I get side-tracked and all of a sudden need to move on to the next step…I’m ready.   I typically do about 2-2.5 cups of veggies.

cheese, onion, parsley, red/green pepper, mushroom and zucchini

I also prepared the egg mixture for after the veggies are cooked.

8-10 eggs, 1/2 cup cheese and 1 tbsp parsley

Next, heat up 1 tbsp olive oil in a 10 inch skillet to saute your veggies.  I did the onions/peppers first and then added the zucchini and mushrooms for the last 5 minutes.  This is where you can add salt/pepper to taste if you choose.

 

Once your veggies are done, pour your egg mixture over the top.  Do not stir!  Let cook undisturbed for 2-3 minutes so the edges set.  

The top of the frittata will still be runny...just make sure the edges start to set up

Once you see the edges are done, transfer to 425 degree oven for 13-15 minutes.   Be sure to cut into the center of your frittata before deciding it’s done.  Runny eggs = gross.   Then transfer to a cutting board or plate and let cool.  Cut into slices and refrigerate. 

And you're done!

I like to garnish with sprouts and a side of cottage cheese.  But salsa and avocado would be delish too.

Oh, so remember my disclaimer above?  Well…case in point:  after cooking this I went to start cleaning up and grabbed the skillet by its handle.  Oh.My.Gawd.  I’m pretty sure I screamed loud enough for the neighbors to think I was being murdered by my husband.  Ouch.  See?  I’m human.  I make dumb mistakes.  Ugh.  The best part was clutching a bag of frozen corn all night and accepting the fact that the corn had to come to bed with us.  Awesome.

But at least I have breakfast ready for tomorrow, eh?

Leave a Comment!

