whole30; week 4

Twenty NINE days ya’ll.

Just two more days of Whole30, can you believe it?  Or is it kind of like that weird phenomenon where everyone else’s pregnancy seems like a blink of an eye and yours seems like a decade?  Perhaps this flew by for you.  That must be nice.  Sooooo……yeah.  Just two more days.  And I have to admit I’m not quite sure how I feel about this all coming to an end.  But more on that later.   First I want to update you on what’s happened this past week, days 23-29.

This fourth week has been pretty smooth sailing.  By now I am comfortable planning my meals, buying compliant ingredients without having to scrutinize every single label, eating outside of my house, and working my second job in the kitchen.   It feels comfortable.  It feels good.  And it feels (gasp) easy.  I also feel pretty damn amazing too; my energy is insane, my headaches are gone and I haven’t had a stomach ache since starting this whole program.   Oh and bonus…I’m pretty sure I’ve lost some weight.  I’m not supposed to weigh myself until day 30 but most if not all of my clothes fit differently now (in a good way), so I’m not complaining.

I had the appointment with my naturopath last week and it went really well.  In fact she said, and I quote, “You are one of those patients that’s young, motivated and basically curing yourself on your own without me really having to do anything.”

Um….can I get a refund then?

No, really.  Can I?

Anyhoo…she’s right.  I feel like I’m on the right track.  Slowly but surely my symptoms are all but disappearing and it feels really good.  In fact, my Dr. even gave me kudos for bringing Whole30 to her attention and said that it’s one of the better elimination diets that she’s researched.  She’s even asked a few other patients to do it (I mean really, she should be paying me, amiright?).

All kidding aside, it’s been nice to have her guidance through this whole process and I never would have known about my Vitamin D deficiency without the blood work.  So I don’t look at that as time wasted or money ill-spent.   If anything it just makes me believe that sometimes the answers are a little more common sense than we want to admit.

Anyways…this week also brought some struggles.  Minor ones compared to weeks 1, 2 and 3…but struggles nonetheless (and shocker….the Hub’s birthday cheesecake wasn’t the issue).  What got me this week was being ok with bending the rules of Whole30 a little bit.  So far I’ve been fairly strict about what I eat, when I eat and how much I eat.  But there was one day that we didn’t eat dinner until 9:00 p.m……which put me 8 hours in between meals.  Whole30 says to only go 4-5 hours and to definitely, definitely NOT eat close to bedtime.  But duuuuuude.  By 9:00 I was starrrrrrving.  I had to eat.  It also caused me to snack on an apple and a Larabar in between meals.  Which I don’t feel terrible about, but is just one of those things that I wish I could’ve changed.   P.S. Bianca came close to coming out that day.

The other issue I had was snacking.  There were a couple of days that I found myself snacking before or after a meal if I didn’t feel quite satisfied.  A handful of nuts, or half of an apple or something.  Nothing non-compliant but definitely not what I should be doing.  That’s messed with me a little mentally because I thought I wouldn’t have any issues with that after the first week.   Especially because I didn’t let myself snack then, so why did I do it now?   So….that’s been hard.  In some ways I feel like I haven’t quite mastered the mental side of this yet.

I just don’t want to mess up after having made it so far.  Ya know?

In the end I consider those minor struggles.  Especially after everything I’ve already gone through to get here.  So if the worst thing I’m doing is eating some extra nuts during the day?  I think I’m doing pretty well.

Food-wise I did a lot of repeat meals this week (some of my favorites from the previous weeks), so I only have a few pictures to show for it.

whole304

I did make a few new things that were pretty dang good.

  • The Best Chicken You Will Ever Eat.  I have to admit I was a little skeptical of this recipe given the title.  But….man.  It was pretty dang good.  And it probably should be after requiring a 2-hour brining, then a spice rub, then actually baking it….and making a dipping sauce.   (you must make the dipping sauce!  It makes this recipe!)
  • Cocoa-Toasted Cauliflower.  If you’re eating lots of veggies…it’s nice to spice them up every now and then!
  • Chicken Adobo.  Do you like vinegar?  Then you’ll like this.  I’ve made this a few times during Whole30 (thanks Erin!), but just had a hard copy of a recipe that was straight from a cookbook.  I found one online that is pretty much the same.

So what’s next?  Well on Day 31 I can reintroduce a food.  Then wait 3 days and pay close attention to how I’m feeling.  If I feel ok (i.e. no reoccurrence of my initial symptoms), I can continue to eat that food.  If I start to see old symptoms coming back in those 3 days then I know I could be sensitive to it.  My plan at this point is to reintroduce items in this order:

  1. eggs
  2. almonds
  3. wine or beer   (stop judging me….you’re lucky I didn’t put it first)

After that I guess I’ll just try different food groups (dairy, gluten, beans, etc.)  But it’s going to be a long process, I mean it will take over two weeks just to get through those first three things!   At first I thought I’d just skip reintroducing a few things all-together (if I wasn’t particularly missing it, etc.) ….but then I realized I definitely SHOULD try each group at least once….just to know if it bothers me.  I basically have a clean slate right now and it’d be a shame not to use it and start to identify some of these things.

Which brings me back full circle to why I’m a little nervous to be done with the program.  I feel the best I have in months (or longer) right now.  I’m a little nervous about what “ending” this means.  I want to continue to feel good but I know eating like this long-term isn’t sustainable.   And I know I can’t go back to eating the way I was before (which in my opinion wasn’t terrible!).  So I guess I’m just nervous about where I’m going to end up.  Because right now I really have no idea.  Eating Whole30 isn’t sustainable long-term.  I know that.  But I hope I can do it most of the time, reintroduce a few things to broaden my options, and then just be ok with a few “extras” here and there (I’m looking at you chocolate cake).  So…..yeah.  I’m just nervous about the whole thing all together.

Isn’t that ironic.  I’m probably more scared to STOP Whole30 than I was to START.   Funny how that works.

So that’s where I’m at.  I’m planning on doing one more Whole30 recap just to sum up my whole experience with it, and then I may do one or two more posts as I reintroduce foods because I think it could be interesting (what was that first taste of sugar like?  Was it disgusting (impossible), what it all I was am dreaming of? (likely).

Thirty, flirty and thriving,  (ok fine, thirty-four),

Janna

3 comments

  1. From excited and hopeful to scared to death to screw it up…..yeah, it makes sense. I am sure anyone would feel that way after all the work and the emotions of all of it.

    Glad to hear you’re feeling good. It’s awesome that Bianca has been away for so long, I’m sure everyone appreciates that.

    Good job for sticking it out! It’s inspiring to see you doing this.

Leave a Comment!

