currently

I’ve decided to quit acknowledging the fact that my posts are so few and far between.  It makes me feel guilty and question whether or not I should just call it quits.  In fact, there have been a few times over the course of these past few months that I’ve actually “written” my “it’s not you, it’s me” post in my head.  But.  I’m not ready to be done.  So if you’re reading this, thanks for coming back and putting up with my absence; that was certainly quite a doozy, wasn’t it?

The problem with being gone for so long is that there’s just so much to say.  I feel weird just jumping back into a big ‘ol post (surprisingly I have a few waiting to be published….but it just felt weird posting those first).  So I thought I’d catch you up.  And since I don’t know where to start, I’m going to steal an idea from one of my favorite little bloggers that allows her to just write.  Sorta like a random ramblings but with a bit more purpose so that hopefully I can get back into the groove of writing more often.    So here goes.

Currently I am…

drinking approximately 1 inch of wine that I left in the bottle.  Seriously.  1 inch.  I want to go back in time and punch myself in the arm for being so rude.   Come on, at least leave a three-inch pour for the next poor sap!

<<disclaimer>> I wrote this last night…so no….I’m not drinking leftover wine at 9:00 in the morning.  At least not today.

watching Modern Family.  What I would do without that show, I’m not sure.  But I certainly wouldn’t laugh as much.  Seriously….d.i.e.

not watching:  Parenthood.  Gah.  So I joined Amazon Prime back in October and thought it would be a good idea to start watching Parenthood from the beginning.  I didn’t start watching the show at all until Season 4, so there were three whole seasons of drama I has missed out on.  So yeah.  Every freaking episode was at my fingertips and I apparently have no self-control when it comes to TV shows.  It can be 11:00 p.m., I can be drooling out of the corner of my mouth and barely awake, but I think….one more….just one more!  I have to find out if Julia gets the baby!   Ugh.  So now that I’ve finally caught up I vowed to NEVER, never watch another TV show like that again.  So that’s why I am NOT watching Parenthood (or Dexter, or Downton Abby or anything else for that matter!).  Until of course the new Parenthood airs on February 27th.  I can handle being spoon-fed one at a time.

loving the snow dumping outside.

feeling frustrated that I can’t go skiing.

cooking lots of good food.  In fact I made not one, but two batches of soup today.   I’ve been in a bit of a cooking rut lately so it feels good to be back.  On a related note:  can I just give a shout out to Gwyneth Paltrow?  Yeah weird.  But I got her cookbook (yes, a real, physical, hug-it-in-your-arms book) for Christmas and it’s amazing.  Both soups I made were from there and they’re delicious.   There isn’t a trace of sugar, dairy or gluten in the book…if you care about that stuff.  I really don’t (except dairy)…but I will.  Read on….

eating all of the dairy, eggs, wheat, nuts and gluten that I can before it’s taken away from me.  Kidding.  Kind of.  This is a whole post in it’s own (and one I think I’ll really take the time to write about).  But I’ve been going to a naturopath and after some blood work/food allergy testing, I’ve been told I need to do an elimination diet.  Apparently I may be sensitive to dairy, eggs, wheat, gluten, almonds and corn.  I’m totally on board with doing this, but please, praytell…..what am I supposed to eat?!?!  Specifically for breakfast.  I think that’s the meal I’m struggling with the most.  No eggs, toast, yogurt, granola, cereal, pancakes, waffles.  Hello!  Ugh.    So yeah,  I kinda want to just put an IV of cheese into my system right now until this elimination business starts.  That’s a thing, right?

seriously considering trying to tackle the  Whole30 thing for my month of elimination.  I mean why NOT just go ahead an eliminate sugar while I’m at it.   Have any of you done/tried that before?  I’m accepting all advice at this point.  i.e. how do you live without cheeeeeese?

crafting a little Valentine’s Day gift for Abby and my nieces and nephews.

DIY-ing some rolling-baskets to contain the toy clutter in our living room.  I’m kind of dying from the clutter.   You know how there are blogs and blogs about IKEA-hacks?  Do you think Target-hacking is a thing?  Cuz that’s what I’m doing.  Maybe I’ll post about it.

missing this place:  (and those tiny pigtails!!  They are like twice that long now)

IMG_4224

reading nothing.  I’ve got a bad case of the I-can’t-read-bug.

obsessing about Oula.  Still!  I absolutely love this class…I seriously get angry if I have to miss it.  It’s my outlet and I neeeeeed it.

starting a new blog with a group of friends that I’ll be a contributor to.  More to come on that later.

planning a ski trip this month.  A child-less ski trip.  Watch.  out.  world.

remembering I’m halfway through Abby’s laundry and have at least another hours-worth before I can go to bed.  Ughhhhhh……dang it.

counting down the days until World Market opens it’s doors less than a mile from my house.

hoping that I really will make time to blog more.  I want to.  I’m ready.  I need it.  I have so many projects to tell you about, and Lord knows I’ll need some support during my elimination business.   I am hoping that I can really make writing a priority again.  I just feel better when I do it.   Plus….that little quiz on Facebook (what career should you have) told me I should be a writer.  So clearly this is my calling.

Obviously I have some laundry to tend to…so I best be leaving.  Annnnnd my wine is gone (1 inch equals two sips…for future reference).

Here’s to chatting again soon….

5 comments

  1. Gah! You’re getting a World Market?!?! I leave sweet civilization and Missoula gets a Carter’s store & a World Market.
    At least you’re back, and trying…..I’m learning that’s worth a lot. Good to have you back.

  2. I always love reading your blog. If we both had more time we would be really great face-to-face friends. I scoped out World Market in Bozeman just to see what the hype was and time stood still. Loved it. Maysa now drinks milk from a World Market plastic wine glass.

    1. Hahaha… I love it Katie!! And yes….you should be excited. Very excited. :) oh and I agree about the friend-thing. Maybe someday when we have lives again? Haha.

What do you think? I'd love your feedback on my post!

