Nursery Update

I’ve slowly but surely been making progress in the nursery, so I thought I’d take some time to show you what’s new!

Here’s a reminder of what the guest room looked like before:

IMG_3848

IMG_3839crop

IMG_3840

I have been trying to sell the white wicker furniture on Craigslist for quite awhile – maybe a month and a half.  Finally this past week someone purchased it for their own guest room.  I was so happy to see it go to someone who appreciated it and was going to use the whole set.   I admit it was slightly bittersweet because I’d had that set since I was in High school.   But as soon as I remember why it’s leaving I can usually move past the sentimental part of it.  

They just picked up the furniture this weekend and it feels so good to be working with a blank slate.    I didn’t waste any time getting started…

Remember this fabric I bought at IKEA?

IMG_3914

It’s now the curtains in our nursery.  Instead of hemming each panel I simply used Heat ‘n Bond hem tape (discovered over at Young House Love, here).  I found it so easy to use and it saved me having to sew each panel. 

The double-set of windows already had a curtain rod in place, so I just needed to purchase some curtain rings to clip the panels to.    I had decided against making a rod pocket in the panels because (1) it would be easier just to clip the finished panels and (2) it seemed safer.  You know, in case a toddler pulls on them one day!  I’d rather have the curtain panel fall down than the entire curtain rod.   Look at me, already thinking like a parent.

The two smaller windows just needed a small rod installed and I split a pack of curtain rings between the two of them. 

Oh, I guess I haven’t mentioned that I had also purchased new bedding at IKEA.  We’ve decided to leave the bed in the room for now, so it needed an update from the purple duvet cover. 

Here’s what she looks like after the bedding swap, curtain install and furniture removal:

IMG_4013

IMG_4016

IMG_4014

I’ll be removing everything on the wall next since I imagine the crib will go where the old dresser was (right below the current floating shelf).  I’m just guessing that we won’t want a floating shelf above the crib….ha ha.   So that will come down and I’ll probably try to make some sort of mobile or picture gallery on the wall. 

You may notice that the curtains look slightly different on the smaller windows.  That’s because I was able to split one fabric panel between the two windows.  I simply cut it down the middle so I could use it for both.   That also means I have 2.5 extra feet of this fabric, but I figure it will come in handy somewhere down the line.  And I like of like how the panels are a little abstract now. 

Here’s a shot of the curtains closed, just to see what I mean about splitting it in half:

IMG_4015

I’m feeling good about the progress.  There’s still a lot to do but it feels good to have the old furniture gone and ready to move onto the next phase. 

Here’s some of the projects still on my to-do list:

  • Order crib
  • Sew crib skirt (I’ve already picked out the fabric)
  • Move in the dresser (Surprise!  I’ve already purchased and refinished the dresser.  Just need to move it up!  Stay tuned for that reveal).
  • Hang pictures on the wall (I also purchased a bunch of white frames at IKEA for a gallery wall).
  • Make a mobile
  • Keep an eye out for a rug (just a nice-t0-have)
  • Think about purchasing a glider (I’m still undecided on this one)
  • Add throw pillows to the bed and sew covers to incorporate some of the saffron and blue tones here.
  • Sew a baby blanket (again, fabric already purchased, just need to make it!)
  • Organize the closet and dresser

That should keep me busy for the next three months, right?  Luckily I have ideas for most of the bullet points so it’s just a matter of finding the time to actually work on it all. 

I’m looking forward to pulling it all together and especially bringing in some of the yellow and blue tones I talked about here.  I think right now I’ve got a good grey/white base going on, so it’s just a matter of adding in some pops of color!

What do you think so far?  I know it’s not looking very “babyish” but I’m guessing the crib will help with that.   And I guess my whole vision isn’t very babyish with the decor anyway…but that’s ok.  Our baby is going to be very hip.  Ha.

6 comments

  1. Looks great, Janna! She will be one hip little girl :)
    We do not have a glider or rocker and I wish we did! We used my old pink and white striped chair from my childhood room to save some cash. It works just right for the space (even though it doesn’t match at all), but I think a comfy rocker or glider would have been nice– would still be nice for the 4 a.m. wake up call I got this morning.

  2. LOVE IT! Can’t wait for baby Tang to arrive and sleep like a baby in her new room…never undestood why people say sleep like a baby since they are your own personal alarm clock at 2:00am. ;) Great progress and I am excited to see the end result, I know it will be fabulous. :)

  3. Ohhhh….Ahhhhh! I’m loving the transfomation! Great progress and I am excited to see all the other special touches you’ve planned come together. I think it’s safe to say you are in ‘nesting mode’. :)

    ps. I think you should at least look for a glider, you can always wait and purchase it later, but at least the leg work is done. It’s harder to shop around after baby arrives…

What do you think? I'd love your feedback on my post!

